Christmas Projects – Part 2

So, the kids ended up not doing their projects that I had planned. We didn’t have much time and when we did they didn’t want to do it.  So, they’ll wait till next year. I did get one project for myself done.  I got the idea from this post, but changed it up to suit my taste.

Supplies needed:

  • Canvas board – whatever size
  • Painters tape or masking tape
  • paint color (s) of your choice
  • glitter
  • plastic bag
  • wood or chipboard letters
  • clear enamel spray
  • Elmers glue
  • hot glue and glue gun

Once you tape off your canvas, start painting. This took about 3 coats of paint. I used a deep red that was real streaky so I just kept doing another coat until it came out solid like I liked it.

Then while that is drying I put glue on the front and sides of the letters and threw them in large ziplock bag filled with glitter and shook them up.  After they were covered I gently shook them in the bag to get rid of the excess glitter then laid them on wax paper till I was ready to glue them to the canvas board.

Once my canvas was painted the way I liked I let the paint dry and then removed the tape.  I laid out my letters to see where I wanted to place them and then hot glued them onto the canvas.  Once they were glued down I took the whole thing outside and sprayed a real good thick coat of clear enamel spray all over the whole thing.

It ended up looking really good, but I wanted it to sit on our mantle and I guess I didn’t take into consideration how big our mantle is so the final product looks dwarfed on there. I may move it somewhere else and do something bigger for the mantle next year.  But, overall, this was a super easy project and turned out so cute. It would be great for gifts too.

tape off the canvas board

tape off the canvas board

paint the desired color

paint the desired color

20141214_154308

throw the letters (covered in glue )in the bags full of glitter

throw the letters (covered in glue )in the bags full of glitter

Spray the whole thing with clear enamel spray to hold all the glitter on and keep it glossy.

Spray the whole thing with clear enamel spray to hold all the glitter on and keep it glossy.

Done!

Done!

I might do this again and make it bigger next year since it seems so dwarfed on our mantle.

I might do this again and make it bigger next year since it seems so dwarfed on our mantle.

Love the house all lit up at night

Love the house all lit up at night

Leave a Reply

